Welcome to Phase 2!

ZO.RRO II state project - Decarbonization of the energy supply in industrial companies

The demonstration phase of the energy project ZO.RRO (Zero Carbon Cross Energy System) has started! The ZO.RRO II state project, led by Nordhausen University of Applied Sciences and supported by its partner Thuringian Network for Renewable Energies (ThEEN Association), received the funding decision from the Thuringian Ministry for the Environment, Energy and Nature Conservation (TMUEN) for around 2 million euros on 23 May 2022 press release.

This enables the ZO.RRO II team to develop and implement lighthouse projects in the form of demonstrators until the end of 2024 in cooperation with industrial practice partners. The aim is to build on the analyses carried out in ZO.RRO I as quickly as possible and to carry out detailed measurements.

Our goal:

Reduce CO2 emissions, optimize supply & prove the CO2 footprint of participating companies by:

  • detailed measurements to evaluate suitable options in energy supply
  • identification of hidden savings potentials and largest CO2 sources
  • economic and ecological evaluation of individual plants
  • verification of CO2 footprint and sustainable development
  • optimization of the design of new plants and supply concepts (e.g. by using photovoltaics, energy storage, flexibility potentials, electromobility)

ZO.RRO II uses therefore three tools:

1. CO2-Balancing via "ecocockpit" | 2. ZO.RRO Measurement Technology | 3. Energy System Calculator

Energy System Calculator

In the first phase of the energy project ZO.RRO (Zero Carbon Cross Energy System), Nordhausen University of Applied Sciences has developed a unique digital energy transition calculator as open source software. The result: an energy system model that can calculate transformation paths and scenarios for a climate-neutral energy supply. Using Thuringia as an example, it was shown how the goals of the Thuringian Climate Act can realistically be achieved using certain technologies.

The open source software can now also be used for other federal states, regions, municipalities, but also for energy suppliers and companies and support them with scientifically based scenarios to define binding expansion targets and transformation paths. That is why, this development was awarded with the Thuringian Digital and Open Source Prize 2022 on 25 June 2022 by the Thuringian Ministry of Economy, Science and Digital Society. Hence the new ZO.RRO tool is already widely used.

In the ZO.RRO II state project, the energy flows and CO2 emissions are determined, analyzed and visualized for each of the practice partners by means of an energy system model. By step-by-step programming of scenarios, into which measurement data of the ZO.RRO measurement technology flow, it is individually calculated which technologies that enable a CO2-minimal energy supply. The goal is a realistic, cost-optimal system design to cover the energy demand of the given company at any time.

Learn more

Link to the Open-Source-Tool: doi.org/10.22032/dbt.50184

Digital Price 2022 received

Watch our short video - German language only

ZO.RRO Measurement Technology

Added values & services of ZO.RRO measurement technology:

  • Detailed recording of energy consumption and CO2 emissions according to individual measurement concept
  • Measurement duration: approx. 1 year
  • Enables optimized calculations with own data
  • Data flows into energy system calculator & CO2 balance with ecocockpit

CO2-Balancing via ecocockpit

Important basis for the minimization of greenhouse gases is the knowledge about where, how much is emitted. ZO.RRO II uses the online tool "ecocockpit" provided by the state of Thuringia for CO2 balancing for participating companies. ecocockpit enables a CO2 balance as a verification according to the three scopes (categories of emission sources) of the internationally applied "Greenhouse Gas Protocoll" (GHG Protocol). A distinction is made between (1) direct emissions (Scope 1, e.g. natural gas combustion), (2) indirect emissions (Scope 2, e.g. through purchased energies such as electricity, heat), (3) emissions from the upstream and downstream value chain (Scope 3 - extensive consideration of emissions through e.g. raw materials used, downstream transport routes, recycling of products, etc.).

ZO.RRO practice partners are supported in the creation of the basic setup, the selection of scopes and relevant level of detail, and the identification of values that need to be calculated beforehand. Obtained data from the ZO.RRO measurement technology is incorporated into the analysis and enables a realistic determination of the company's CO2 emissions. As a result, a company's largest CO2 sources can be determined and a sustainability report and certificate can be produced. A differentiated analysis by product, location or process is possible.

Project Funding

We thank the Freestate of Thuringia for proving us with project funding.

ZO.RRO Phase I (2019 - 2022)

The ZO.RRO I Project has ended on June 30th 2022. Please find all information about the first phase of the ZO.RRO project following the link below:

>> All results and information about ZO.RRO I

>> ZO.RRO Final Conference May 23rd 2022

ZO.RRO- Project Documentary Film (9 min)

Willkommen in Phase 2!

Das ZO.RRO II Landesprojekt zur Dekarbonisierung der Energieversorgung in der Industrie

Die Demonstrationsphase des Energieprojekts ZO.RRO (Zero Carbon Cross Energy System) ist gestartet! Das ZO.RRO II Landesprojekt unter der Leitung der Hochschule Nordhausen, unterstützt von Verbundpartner Thüringer Erneuerbare Energien Netzwerk (ThEEN) e.V. erhielt am 23. Mai 2022 den Förderbescheid des Thüringer Ministeriums für Umwelt, Energie und Naturschutz (TMUEN) über rund 2 Millionen Euro (Pressemeldung).

Die zweite Projektphase ermöglicht dem ZO.RRO II Team gemeinsam mit den Praxispartnern Leuchtturmprojekte in Form von Demonstratoren bis Ende 2024 zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Ziel ist es schnellstmöglich auf die erfolgten Analysen aus ZO.RRO I aufzubauen und Detailmessungen vorzunehmen.

Unser Ziel :

CO2-Emissionen reduzieren, Versorgung optimieren & den CO2-Footprint beteiligter Unternehmen nachweisen durch:

  • detaillierte Messungen zur Bewertung geeigneter Optionen in der Energieversorgung
  • Erkennen verdeckter Einsparpotentiale und größter CO2-Quellen
  • wirtschaftliche und ökologische Bewertung von einzelnen Anlagen
  • Nachweisführung über CO2-Fußabdruck und nachhaltige Entwicklung
  • Optimierung der Auslegung vin neuen Anlagen und Versorgungskonzepten
    (bspw. durch Nutzung von Photovoltaik, Energiespeicherung, Flexibilitätspotentiale, Elektromobilität)

Dafür setzen wir drei ZO.RRO-Tools ein :

1. CO2-Bilanzierung mit "ecocockpit" | 2. ZO.RRO Messtechnik | 3. Energiesystemrechner

Energiesystem-Rechner

In der ersten Phase des ZO.RRO-Projektes hat die Hochschule Nordhausen einen bisher einzigartigen digitalen Energiesytsem-Rechner als Open-Source-Software entwickelt. Das Ergebnis: Ein Energiesystemmodell, welches Transformationspfade und Szenarien für eine klimaneutrale Energieversorgung rechnen kann. Am Beispiel Thüringen wurde gezeigt, wie die Ziele des Thüringer Klimagesetzes realistisch unter Einsatz bestimmter Technologien erreicht werden können.

Die Open Source Software kann nun auch für andere Bundesländer, Regionen, Kommunen, aber auch für Energieversorger und Unternehmen genutzt werden und diese mit wissenschaftlich fundierten Szenarien unterstützen, um auch hier verbindliche Ausbauziele und Transformationspfade zu definieren. Daher wurde diese Entwicklung mit dem Thüringer Digital- und Open-Source-Preis 2022 am 25. Juni 2022 durch das Thüringer Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Digitale Gesellschaft ausgezeichnet und findet bereits breite Anwendung.

Im ZO.RRO II Landesprojekt werden mittels Energiesystem-Modell für jedes der Praxispartner die Energieflüsse und CO2-Emissionen ermittelt, analysiert und visualisiert. Durch schrittweise Programmierung von Szenarien, in die Messdaten der ZO.RRO-Messtechnik einfließen, wird individuell berechnet welche Technologien eine CO2-minimale Energieversorgung ermöglichen. Ziel ist eine realisitsche, kostenoptimale Systemauslegung zur Deckung des Energiebedarfs zu jedem Zeitpunkt.

Weitere Informationen | Zum Kurzvideo

Link zum Open-Source-Tool: doi.org/10.22032/dbt.50184

Meldung: Digital-Preis 2022 erhalten

ZO.RRO Messtechnik

Mehrwerte & Leistungen der ZO.RRO Messtechnik:

  • Detaillierte Erfassung der Energieverbräuche und CO2-Emissionen gemäß individuellem Messkonzept
  • Messdauer: ca. 1 Jahr
  • ermöglicht optimierte Berechnungen mit eigenen Daten
  • Daten fließen in Energiesystem-Rechner & CO2-Bilanz mit ecocockpit

CO2-Bilanz mit ecocockpit

Wichtige Grundlage zur Minimierung von Treibhausgasen ist die Kenntnis darüber wo, wieviel emittiert wird. ZO.RRO II nutzt das vom Land Thüringen bereitgestellte Online-Tool "ecocockpit" für die CO2-Bilanzierung für beteiligte Unternehmen. ecocockpit ermöglicht eine CO2-Bilanz als Nachweisführung nach den drei Scopes (Kategorien von Emissionsquellen) des international angewandten "Greenhouse Gas Protocoll" (GHG-Protokoll). Es wird unterschieden in (1) direkte Emissionen (Scope 1, z.B. Erdgasverbrennung), (2) indirekte Emissionen (Scope 2, z.B. durch bezogene Energien wie Strom, Wärme), (3) Emissionen aus der vor- und nachgelagerten Wertschöpfungskette (Scope 3 - weitreichende Betrachtung der Emissionen durch z.B. genutzte Rohstoffe, nachgelagerte Transportwege, Recycling der Produkte, usw.).

ZO.RRO-Praxispartner werden unterstützt bei der Erstellung des Basissetups, der Auswahl der Scopes und relevanter Detailtiefe sowie der Ermittlung von Werten, die zunächst berechnet werden müssen. Gewonnene Daten aus der ZO.RRO-Messtechnik fließen in die Analyse ein und ermöglichen eine realistische Ermittlung der CO2-Emissionen des Unternehmens. Im Ergebnis lassen sich die größten CO2-Quellen eines Unternehmens bestimmen und ein Nachhaltigkeitsbericht sowie Zertifikat erstellen. Es ist eine differenzierte Analyse nach Produkt / Standort oder Prozess möglich.

Projektförderung

Wir bedanken uns für die Projektförderung durch den Freistaat Thüringen.

ZO.RRO I Konzeptionsphase 2019 - 2022

Das ZO.RRO I Projekt endete am 30.06.2022. Alle Inhalte zur ersten Konzeptionsphase finden Sie hier im Archiv.

>> Alle Ergebnisse und Informationen zu ZO.RRO I

>> ZO.RRO Abschlusskonferenz vom 23. Mai 2022

ZO.RRO- Projekt Dokumentationsfilm (9 min)