Consortium

Technische Universität Ilmenau

The TU Ilmenau is responsible for the overall project management as consortium leader.

Power Systems Group

The focus of the power systems group is on system-technical considerations of the electrical power supply system. In this context, the department deals with future requirements for power transmission and distribution, the integration of new basic technologies, optimal system operation, and the modelling and analysis of the entire power system from the transport system level to the system on the final consumer side.

Energy Usage Optimization Group

The energy usage optimization group deals with questions of energy forecasting and energy usage optimization for electrical and multimodal energy systems. In addition, the department deals with the modelling and simulation of the energy supply systems electricity, gas and heating/cooling. Furthermore, new methods for demand and feed-in forecasting, for optimal energy use planning in case of uncertainties as well as for the generation and simulation of specific energy scenarios are examined.

MOTIVATION

We are motivated by the opportunity to derive a model for implementing the energy transition for the whole of Germany starting from Thuringia.

CONTRIBUTION

For us, the project is a success if we can show how a CO2-free energy system can be implemented and feasible concepts arise from it.

Role and tasks

  • Overall project management and consortium leadership
  • Cross-sectoral ancillary services: Development of a system design for the provision of ancillary services for cross-sectoral grid operation and demonstration of deployment and security concepts for CO2-free energy supply
  • Preparation of demonstration: Conception of demonstrators, in which the developed approaches are implemented and examined for feasibility
  • Ensuring the overall integration of the partial aspects into the overall concept

Fraunhofer IOSB

Advanced System Technology (AST)

We research new cybernetic methods and procedures for an optimal control of complex systems and convert them into innovative management applications, e.g. for cross-sectoral energy systems. Our excellent research work is adjusted to the future topic of "digitalization" across all industries. In public contract research, we are excellently positioned at state, federal and European level.

MOTIVATION

We want to actively shape the transformation of the energy system for an economically and ecologically optimal, safe and socially accepted energy supply for electricity, heat, gas and mobility.

CONTRIBUTION

For us, the project is a success when we have successfully developed, examined and prototyped the models, methods and tools for energy system planning and analysis as well as the coordinated optimal management of cross-sectoral energy supply systems. Thus, we can make an important contribution to a CO2-free energy supply.

Role and tasks

We are dedicated to energy system analysis and optimization as well as to IT infrastructures and IT systems. Our tasks here are in the area of research of relevant methods and procedures, the conception, planning, creation and implementation of simulative studies.

This creates:

  • simulation and optimization models for cross-sectoral energy system analysis and planning
  • optimization models for operational energy planning
  • a CO2 monitoring system
  • a RES storage portfolio management system

Hochschule Nordhausen - University of Applied Sciences

Institute for Renewable Energy Technology – in.RET

The in.RET bundles the existing professional resources in the field of renewable energy technology at the University of Applied Sciences Nordhausen. The institute currently comprises 6 professorships in the fields of electrical and thermal energy technology, power and work machines as well as project planning of technical systems and the energy economics, which are supported by 25 employees. The bundling of professional know-how enables the interdisciplinary processing of research projects from the areas of component and system development, the generation and storage of energy and their cross-sectoral use in the energy system.

MOTIVATION

Climate change is coming - we have to act now to enable future generations to survive on our planet. Our motivation is to advance the energy transition in all sectors.

CONTRIBUTION

For us, the project is a success if our models help decision-makers in politics and business to make the right decisions for the transformation towards a CO2-free Thuringia.

Role and tasks

The University of Applied Sciences Nordhausen is working on the Thuringian-specific scenarios and models for a cross-sectoral, CO2-free energy supply.

  • Definition of a research scenario "Thuringia", identification of energy and flexibilisation potentials in Thuringia
  • Determination of energy demands for Thuringia in 2050
  • Review of the impact of cross-sectoral resource and energy use planning

ThEFI & ZET

The Center of Power Technology (ZET), as an inter-faculty unit, forms the technological basis for the Thuringian Energy Research Institute (ThEFi) at the Technische Universität Ilmenau. At the ThEFi, we conduct research in 12 specialist areas in the fields of energy system and environmental technology. In terms of content, the entire process from energy generation and distribution, energy storage and control to energy conversion is mapped in concrete fields of application.

MOTIVATION

We conduct research on innovative energy supply technologies, new forms of electrical grids and storage operation, effective drives for vehicles, machines and systems as well as solar systems and wind power plants and their optimization.

CONTRIBUTION

For us, the project is a success if we can provide an appropriate infrastructure for ZO.RRO to develop prototype concepts for the realistic testing of basic technologies for cross-sectoral grid structures and act as a test platform for technical solutions and interfaces.

Role and tasks

The ZET provides technical equipment and spatial resources such as the real-time simulator for energy systems or the dynamic grid control center for the implementation of the ZO.RRO project.

IFE

The Ingenieurbüro für Energiewirtschaft Dr. Dirk Schramm GmbH (engineering office for energy management IFE), was founded in 1993 and currently employs 35 staff at the Steinbach-Hallenberg, Erfurt and Meiningen locations. We act as a technical and economic management consultancy both, as a back office for grid operators, municipal utilities and regional energy suppliers as well as in the field of energy efficiency management for industrial and municipal companies.

MOTIVATION

Global warming, species extinction ... it is high time for concrete action. Conventional energy consumption must be drastically reduced and, if possible, converted to renewable energies.

CONTRIBUTION

The conversion to a renewable energy supply in one of the world's leading economies is a particularly high challenge. As IfE GmbH, we confirm our contribution by participating in the ZO.RRO project.

Role and tasks

  • In cooperation with Trianel and ThEEN, we identify the load shifting and efficiency potentials of Thuringian industrial and commercial companies.
  • The results and experience from our many years of activity in energy efficiency consulting are also incorporated into the ZO.RRO project.
  • In addition to technical expertise, IfE GmbH's mobile measurement technology is available to identify potential and support the preparation of demonstration projects.

KoCoS

The KoCoS Technology Group as a globally active group of companies, which develops, produces and sells measurement and test systems for equipment in the field of electrical power supply and laser-optical inspection systems for quality monitoring. Every day, KoCoS uses the expertise of its employees to solve challenging and unusual tasks in consulting, development, production and sales.

MOTIVATION

KoCoS has been working on optimizing the energy supply since its foundation. Our drive is to make the energy supply of the future safer and more environmentally friendly with our innovations. We have increasingly been able to realise this claim on a global scale.

CONTRIBUTION

The aim of KoCoS in the project is to develop a prototype in order to provide the project with the necessary hardware and software. In the long run, we want to develop the prototype into a series product. If we are able to globalise the product afterwards, this can be considered a complete success.

Role and tasks

  • Development and set up of a new product group: Suitable communication and measurement strategies for the complex acquisition and decentralized control of the different types of energy must be found
  • Contribution of the experience to the international sales organization: After the realisation of the prototypes, the boundary conditions must be clarified in an international environment with different legal situations and any necessary adaptations must be implemented or organized.

ThEEN

The Thuringian Renewable Energy Network (Thüringer Erneuerbare Energien Netzwerk, ThEEN) is the expert network for renewable energies, energy storage, energy efficiency and sector coupling. We have around 80 members from industry, science and public institutions and represent more than 300 companies through our member associations. The ThEEN leads an innovation cluster in the Free State of Thuringia.

MOTIVATION

We want to develop Thuringia into a lighthouse of the systemic energy system transformation.

CONTRIBUTION

For us, the project is a success if we conceptualize the exemplary implementation of a cross-sectoral CO2-free energy system with companies from the industrial, commercial and service sectors in Thuringia.

Role and tasks

  • ThEEN is working together with Nordhausen University of Applied Sciences on the Thuringia-specific parameters for a future CO2-free energy system.
  • The potentials of selected companies are assessed and evaluated in cooperation with IfE and Trianel, and concepts are developed to subsequently demonstrate CO2-free production in Thuringia.
  • ThEEN heads the communication office of the project and is responsible for the integration of Thuringian companies and multipliers from the economy and for public relations.

Trianel

The municipal utility cooperation Trianel was founded in 1999 to bundle the interests of municipal utilities and to strengthen their independence and competitiveness in the energy market. Today, this idea is followed by more than 100 municipal stakeholders and partners from Germany, Austria, the Netherlands and Switzerland. The approximately 300 employees support municipal utilities in energy trading and procurement, renewable energies project development and in digital transformation.

MOTIVATION

A key challenge of the present is to significantly reduce CO2 emissions and to promote decarbonization, particularly in the energy system. A step to achieving the climate protection targets in the energy sector will be the flexibilization and intelligent linking of decentralized generators, storage facilities and grids. For this reason, we would like to develop concepts and test them for their practical suitability.

CONTRIBUTION

Our aim is to gain knowledge about industrial and commercial consumers and their potential for flexibility at the distribution grid level. In this way, we would like to help distribution system operators to plan their grids in a better way and thus continue to guarantee a high security of supply while at the same time making grid expansion as cost-efficient as possible.

Role and tasks

  • With the help of an empirical survey, it is intended to determine which flexibilities exist in the loads of industrial and commercial enterprises and how these potentials can be optimally used. (Testing of the implementation of battery storage or the installation of buffer storage)
  • Economic efficiency of the measures, identification of options and, if necessary, their implementation
  • Identification of acceptance or regulatory barriers
  • Support for economically feasible flexibility options
  • Transfer of the empirically found results into a cluster analysis (assessment of flexibility options of certain industries and production processes)

Konsortium

Technische Universität Ilmenau

Die TU Ilmenau verantwortet als Konsortialführer die Gesamtprojektleitung.

Fachgebiet Elektrische Energieversorgung

Der Fokus des Fachgebietes Elektrische Energieversorgung liegt auf systemtechnischen Betrachtungen des elektrischen Energie­versorgungs­systems. In diesem Zusammenhang beschäftigt sich das Fachgebiet unter anderem mit zukünftigen Anforderungen an die Energieübertragung und -verteilung, der Integration neuer Basistechnologien, optimaler Systemführung sowie der Modellierung und Analyse des gesamten Energiesystems von der Transportnetzebene bis hin zur Anlage auf der Endverbraucherseite.

Fachgebiet Energie­einsatzoptimierung

Das Fachgebiet Energie­einsatzoptimierung befasst sich mit Fragestellungen der Energieprognose und Energie­einsatzoptimierung für elektrische und multimodale Energiesysteme. Darüber hinaus befasst sich das Fachgebiet mit der Modellierung und Simulation von Energieversorgungssystemen Strom, Gas, Wärme/Kälte und forscht an neuen Methoden zur Bedarfs- und Einspeisevorhersage, zur optimalen Energieeinsatzplanung bei Unsicherheiten sowie zur Generierung und Simulation vorgegebener Energieszenarien.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

Uns motiviert die Möglichkeit, aus Thüringen heraus ein Modell zur Umsetzung der Energiewende für ganz Deutschland abzuleiten.

UNSER BEITRAG

Das Projekt ist für uns ein Erfolg, wenn wir zeigen können, wie sich ein CO2-freies Energiesystem umsetzen lässt und daraus realisierbare Konzepte entstehen.

Rolle und Aufgaben

  • Koordination des Gesamtprojektes und Konsortialführung.
  • Sektorenübergreifende Systemdienstleistungen: Entwicklung eines Systementwurfs zur Bereitstellung von Systemdienstleistungen zur sektorenübergreifenden-Netzführung und Aufzeigen von Einsatz- und Sicherungskonzepten für die CO2-freie Energieversorgung
  • Vorbereitung Demonstration: Konzeptionierung von Demonstratoren, in denen die erarbeiteten Ansätze umgesetzt und auf Realisierbarkeit untersucht werden; Sicherstellung der Gesamtintegration der Teilaspekte in das Gesamtkonzept

Fraunhofer IOSB

Institutsteil Angewandte Systemtechnik (AST) des Fraunhofer IOSB

Wir forschen an neuen kybernetischen Methoden und Verfahren zur optimalen Steuerung komplexer Systeme und überführen diese in innovative Betriebs­führungs­applikationen, z.B. für cross-sektorale Energiesysteme. Unsere exzellenten Forschungsarbeiten sind branchenübergreifend auf das Zukunftsthema „Digitalisierung“ zugeschnitten. In der öffentlichen Auftragsforschung sind wir auf Landes-, Bundes- und Europäischer Ebene ausgezeichnet aufgestellt.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

Wir wollen die Transformation des Energiesystems für eine künftig ökonomisch und ökologisch optimale, sichere sowie gesellschaftlich akzeptierte Energieversorgung für Strom, Wärme, Gas und Mobilität aktiv gestalten.

UNSER BEITRAG

Das Projekt ist für uns ein Erfolg, wenn wir die systemtechnischen Modelle, Methoden und Werkzeuge für die Energiesystemplanung und -analyse sowie die koordinierte optimale Betriebsführung cross-sektoraler Energie­versorgungs­systeme erfolgreich entwickelt, untersucht und prototypisch demonstriert haben und damit einen wichtigen Beitrag für die CO2-freie Energieversorgung leisten.

Rolle und Aufgaben

Das Fraunhofer IOSB-AST widmet sich der Energiesystemanalyse und Einsatzoptimierung sowie der IT-Infrastruktur und den IT-Systeme. Hierbei werden Aufgaben im Bereich der Recherche relevanter Methoden und Verfahren, der Konzeption, Planung, Erstellung und Durchführung von simulativen Untersuchungen bearbeitet.

Dabei entstehen:

  • Simulations- und Optimierungsmodelle für sektorenübergreifende Energiesystemanalyse und -planung
  • Optimierungsmodelle zur energiewirtschaftlichen Einsatzplanung
  • Ein CO2-Monitoring-System
  • Ein EE-Speicher-Portfolio-Management-System

HS Nordhausen

Institut für Regenerative Energietechnik – in.RET

Das in.RET bündelt die vorhandenen fachlichen Ressourcen auf dem Gebiet der regenerativen Energietechnik an der Hochschule Nordhausen. Derzeit umfasst das Institut 6 Professuren aus den Bereichen elektrische und thermische Energietechnik, Kraft- und Arbeitsmaschinen sowie Projektierung technischer Anlagen und Energiewirtschaft, welche von 25 Mitarbeitern unterstützt werden. Die fachliche Bündelung ermöglicht die interdisziplinäre Bearbeitung von Forschungsprojekten aus den Bereichen der Komponenten- und Systementwicklung, der Erzeugung und Speicherung von Energie und deren sektorübergreifendem Einsatz im Energiesystem.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

Climate change is coming – wir müssen jetzt handeln um künftigen Generationen ein Überleben auf unserem Planeten zu ermöglichen. Die Energiewende in allen Sektoren voranzubringen ist unsere Motivation.

UNSER BEITRAG

Das Projekt ist für uns ein Erfolg, wenn unsere Modelle Entscheidungsträgern in Politik und Wirtschaft helfen, die richtigen Entscheidungen für die Transformation hin zu einem CO2-freien Thüringen zu treffen.

Rolle und Aufgaben

Die HS Nordhausen arbeitet zu den thüringenspezifischen Szenarien und Modellen für eine sektoren­übergreifende, CO2-freie Energieversorgung.

  • Definition eines Untersuchungsszenarios „Thüringen“, Ermittlung von Energie- und Flexibilisierungspotentialen in Thüringen,
  • Bestimmung von Endenergie-/Nutzenergiebedarfen für Thüringen im Jahr 2050
  • Überprüfung der Auswirkungen der sektorübergreifenden Ressourcen- und Energieeinsatzplanung

ThEFI & ZET

Das Zentrum für Energietechnik (ZET) bildet als fakultätsübergreifende Einheit die technologische Basis für das Thüringer Energieforschungsinstitut (ThEFI) der Technischen Universität Ilmenau. Am ThEFI forschen wir in 12 Fachgebieten und einer Forschergruppe in den Bereichen Energiesystem- und Umwelttechnik. Inhaltlich wird der gesamte Prozess von der Energieerzeugung und -verteilung über die Energiespeicherung und -steuerung bis hin zur Energiewandlung in konkreten Anwendungsfeldern abgebildet.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

Wir forschen an innovativen Energie­versorgungs­technologien, neuen Formen elektrischer Netze und der Speicher­bewirtschaftung, effektiven Antrieben für Fahrzeuge, Maschinen und Anlagen sowie Solar- und Windkraftanlagen und deren Optimierung.

UNSER BEITRAG

Das Projekt ist für uns ein Erfolg, wenn wir für ZO.RRO die Erarbeitung von Prototypkonzepten zur realitätsnahen Erprobung der Grundsatztechnologien für sektoren­übergreifende Netzstrukturen die passende Infrastruktur bereitstellen können und als Testplattform für technische Lösungen und Schnittstellen agieren.

Rolle und Aufgaben

Das ZET hält gerätetechnische und räumliche Ressourcen wie z.B. den Echtzeitsimulator für Energiesysteme oder die dynamische Netzleitwarte für die Durchführung des Projektes ZO.RRO bereit.

IFE

Die Ingenieurbüro für Energiewirtschaft Dr. Dirk Schramm GmbH, kurz IfE GmbH, wurde 1993 gegründet und beschäftigt aktuell 35 Mitarbeiter an den Standorten Steinbach-Hallenberg, Erfurt und Meiningen. Wir agieren als technisch-wirtschaftliche Unternehmensberatung sowohl als Backoffice für Netzbetreiber, Stadtwerke und regionale Energieversorger als auch im Bereich des Energieeffizienzmanagements für Industrie- und kommunale Unternehmen.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

Klimaerwärmung, Artensterben… - es ist höchste Zeit zum konkreten Handeln. Der konventionelle Energieverbrauch muss drastisch reduziert und wenn möglich, auf erneuerbare Energien umgestellt werden.

UNSER BEITRAG

Der Umbau auf eine regenerative Energieversorgung in einer der führenden Volkswirtschaften auf der Welt ist eine besonders hohe Herausforderung. Als IfE GmbH wollen wir hierzu unseren Beitrag leisten und bekräftigen dies mit unserer Teilnahme am ZO.RRO-Projekt.

Rolle und Aufgaben

  • In Zusammenarbeit mit Trianel und ThEEN identifizieren wir die Lastverschiebe- und Effizienzpotentiale der Thüringer Industrie- und Gewerbebetriebe.
  • Die Ergebnisse und Erfahrungen aus unserer langjährigen Tätigkeit in der Energieeffizienz-beratung lassen wir ebenso in das ZO.RRO-Projekt einfließen. Die vorhandenen Kontakte zur Thüringer Wirtschaft werden genutzt und wenn nötig aktuelle Daten der Unternehmen abgefragt.
  • Neben der technischen Expertise steht die mobile Messtechnik der IfE GmbH zur Verfügung, um Potentiale zu identifizieren und die Vorbereitung der Demonstrationsvorhaben zu unterstützen.

KoCoS

Die KoCoS Technology Group entwickelt, produziert und vertreibt als weltweit tätige Unternehmensgruppe Mess- und Prüfsysteme für Betriebsmittel im Bereich der elektrischen Energieversorgung und laseroptische Inspektionssysteme zur Qualitätsüberwachung. Mit dem Know-how aller Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter löst KoCoS tagtäglich herausfordernde und ungewöhnliche Aufgaben in Beratung, Entwicklung, Fertigung und Vertrieb.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

KoCoS beschäftigt sich seit der Gründung mit der Optimierung der Energieversorgung. Unser Antrieb ist es, die Energieversorgung der Zukunft mit unseren Innovationen sicherer und Umweltfreundlicher zu gestalten. Diesen Anspruch konnten wir mehr und mehr auch global verwirklichen.

UNSER BEITRAG

KoCoS hat im Projekt zum Ziel, einen Prototypen zu entwickeln, um das Projekt mit der benötigten Hard- und Software zu versorgen. Auf lange Sicht möchten wir den Prototypen zu einem Serienprodukt weiterentwickeln. Sollte uns im Anschluss die Globalisierung des Produktes gelingen, kann dies als voller Erfolg gewertet werden.

Rolle und Aufgaben

  • Entwicklung und Aufbau einer neuen Produktgruppe: Es müssen geeignete Kommunikations- und Messstrategien für die komplexe Erfassung und dezentrale Steuerung der unterschiedlichen Energiearten gefunden werden
  • Einbringung der Erfahrungen in die internationale Vertriebsorganisation: Nach der Realisierung der Prototypen müssen im internationalen Umfeld mit unterschiedlichen Gesetzeslagen die Randbedingungen abgeklärt werden und ggf. notwendige Adaptionen implementiert bzw. organisiert werden.

ThEEN

Das Thüringer Erneuerbare Energien Netzwerk (ThEEN) e.V. ist das Kompetenznetzwerk für erneuerbaren Energien, Energiespeicherung, Energieeffizienz und Sektorenkopplung. Wir haben rund 80 Mitglieder aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und öffentlichen Einrichtungen und vertreten über unsere Mitgliedsverbände mehr als 300 Unternehmen. Der ThEEN leitet ein Innovationscluster im Freistaat.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

Wir wollen Thüringen zum Leuchtturm der systemischen Energiewende entwickeln.

UNSER BEITRAG

Das Projekt ist für uns ein Erfolg, wenn wir die beispielhafte Umsetzung eines sektor­übergreifenden CO2-freien Energie­systems mit Unternehmen aus Industrie-, Gewerbe- und Dienstleistungssektor in Thüringen konzeptionieren.

Rolle und Aufgaben

  • ThEEN arbeitet gemeinsam mit der HS Nordhausen an den thüringenspezifischen Parametern für ein zukünftiges CO2-freies Energiesystem.
  • Die Potentiale ausgewählter Betriebe werden mit IfE und Trianel erhoben, evaluiert und Konzepte entwickelt, um eine CO2-freie Produktion im Anschluss in Thüringen zu demonstrieren.
  • Der ThEEN leitet das Kommunikationsbüro des Projektes und ist für die Einbindung von Thüringer Unternehmen und Multiplikatoren aus der Wirtschaft und für die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit zuständig.

Trianel

Die Stadtwerke-Kooperation Trianel wurde 1999 gegründet, um die Interessen von Stadtwerken zu bündeln und deren Unabhängigkeit und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit im Energiemarkt zu stärken. Dieser Idee folgen heute über 100 kommunale Gesellschafter und Partner aus Deutschland, Österreich, den Niederlanden und der Schweiz. Die rund 300 Mitarbeiter unterstützen Stadtwerke im Energiehandel und in der Beschaffung, bei der Projektentwicklung erneuerbare Energien und bei der digitalen Transformation.

UNSERE MOTIVATION

Eine zentrale Herausforderung der Gegenwart ist es, den CO2-Ausstoß – insbesondere im Energiesystem – deutlich zu vermindern und die Dekarbonisierung voranzutreiben. Ein wesentlicher Schlüssel, um die Klimaschutzziele im Energiesektor zu erreichen, wird die Flexibilisierung und intelligente Verknüpfung von dezentralen Erzeugern, Speichern und Netzen sein. Dazu möchten wir Konzepte entwickeln und auf ihre Praxistauglichkeit hin überprüfen.

UNSER BEITRAG

Unser Ziel ist es, Erkenntnisse über industrielle und gewerbliche Verbraucher und deren Flexibilisierungspotential auf der Verteilnetzebene zu gewinnen. Wir möchten so dazu beitragen, dass Verteilnetzbetreiber ihre Netze besser planen können und damit auch weiterhin eine hohe Versorgungssicherheit gewährleisten können und gleichzeitig den Netzausbau so kosteneffizient wie möglich zu gestalten.

Rolle und Aufgaben

  • Mit Hilfe einer empirischen Erhebung soll ermittelt werden, welche Flexibilitäten in den Lasten von Industrie- und Gewerbebetrieben vorhanden sind und wie sich diese Potentiale optimal nutzen lassen. (Prüfung der Implementierung von Batteriespeichern oder die Installation von Pufferspeichern)
  • Wirtschaftlichkeit der Maßnahmen, Aufzeigen von Optionen und ggf. in die Umsetzung zu bringen
  • Erarbeitung von Akzeptanz- oder regulatorischen Hemmnissen
  • Unterstützung bei wirtschaftlich umsetzbaren Flexibilisierungsoptionen
  • Überführung der empirisch gefundenen Resultate in eine Clusteranalyse (Einschätzung zu Flexibilisierungsoptionen bestimmter Branchen und Produktionsprozesse)